CopyKat.com’s Take on Betty Crocker’s Bacon and Ranch Pasta Salad

This is an extension of the review I recently did on the Dining Out At Home Cookbook by Stephanie Manley. I am really enjoying the recreated recipes from popular dining establishments as well as name brand food items. Over the weekend we wanted to have a macaroni salad so I happened to come upon one in the cookbook that is a copykat of Betty Crockers Suddenly Salad Bacon and Ranch Pasta Salad. 

ranch-and-bacon

It was super easy to make, the ingredients list is super short and they are most likely something you have on hand already. The recipe in the Dining Out At Home Cookbook makes what I believe to be a larger portion than the box mix. When my family and I have made the box mix in the past it’s been just shy of not enough for our family, but if we make two boxes it’s too much.

11180012_10152892955157807_2117984283_n 11178459_10152892955182807_1737209579_n

I felt that the homemade salad was bolder in flavor and could be customized to make it a bit healthier. You can choose to use a wheat pasta, a lite mayo, as well as low sodium ingredients as well. Sorry Betty Crocker, I don’t think I’ll be purchasing your salad again. This may have cost a bit more than buying 1 or 2 boxes of the Suddenly Salad combinations but the ingredients I purchased can make this recipe at least twice. Also as mentioned previously it makes a bit more to feed my family of four.

Check out the Recipe and try it for yourself!

11158080_10152896224762807_1660496741_n

You can purchase Stephanie Manley’s Dining Out At Home Cookbook on Amazon. Stay tuned for other book reviews coming to you from Ulysses Press. I have a variety of books for anyones interests. What’s the latest book you’ve read?

As always this was provided to me for free for my 100% honest opinion and feedback. I was not given any other compensation other than the product. These thoughts are my own, and not a reflection of the companies. If you feel you have a product or service you’d like seen on my blog please send your PR and Media requests to me at ProductsinReview@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

