My First Meditation Experience!

I’ve mentioned in previous posts that I have anxiety and sometimes it gets to the point where I can literally convince myself that I am dying. I haven’t figured out what my main triggers are, but I can only assume that stress makes it worse. I wanted to learn away to calm myself, and learn a coping skill for my anxiety attacks and calm them before they get to the point of fearing for my life. I was welcomed into the world of meditation by my sister today when we attended my first ever group meditation session.

10313312_291722824342391_2458940378675012607_n

I am naturally a very open-minded person, and believe in the higher power. I however wasn’t sure what to expect when going into this meditation session. I wasn’t sure if I was supposed to feel a certain way, or walk away with a certain sense of calm. I was quickly reassured that there was no right or wrong way to go into your spiritual journey. That whatever is to be, will be and that you should be open to the possibilities of whatever. With that in mind my friend Caryn Slack guided myself and my sister through a meditation. 

There were several breathing exercises, as well as imagining images in your head. I was able to determine what was weighing deep on my mind as of late, and what it meant. My divine circle (spirits to help guide me on my path) only allowed me to feel, see and hear what I was ready to. I learned things about myself within that 45 minutes that I other wise would have been to caught up in life to focus on. I walked away with a sense of calm, and understanding of what my triggers are for stress. I may not know everything, but the meditation allowed me to know exactly who I am, and what it is that I need to work on.

I plan on working meditation into my life because I feel I owe it to myself to have something that is just for me. Something I don’t have to share with anyone else, and something that calms me. If you struggle with anxiety, stress or need to find an answer for something you’re long for I certainly recommend meditation. You’ll learn things about yourself that you never knew. If you’re local and would like to do a group meditation with Caryn please let me know. We can find a time to set up one, and she’d be happy to help guide you on your path. Check out her Facebook Page, and feel free to reach out to her with any questions you may have.

Please feel free to ask any questions you may have about my personal journey today- I’d love to share with you what you’d like to know 🙂 Thanks so much for tuning in, and if you could please let me know if you medatate, and if so for how long and how has it helped you.

Leave a Reply

