Pizza Dogs?!

I am going to do something a little different with this review! I often times have things come my way that I could totally review, and I forget to write it down. However this time I remembered and I am excited to share with you this review about Pizza Hot Dogs that came across my news feed on Facebook. Some of my Facebook friends and followers may have already seen the video but if you haven’t you can check it out here

To make this recipe you’ll need the following ingredients:

Hot Dogs

Hot Dog Roll… or Bun?

Mozzarella Cheese Stick (String Cheese)

Pizza Sauce

Pepperoni

Shredded Mozzarella Cheese

You’ll then want to preheat your oven to 350 degrees and get out a baking sheet with foil over the top just for easy clean up later on. Once that’s done it’s time to prep the hot dogs!

You’re going to cut into the hot dogs almost all the way though length wise. Then you’re going to open a stick of string cheese and cut it all the way down the middle length wise as well so you have two pieces. You’ll then place a half into the cut you made on the hot dog like so.

11169032_10152885038472807_128082637_n Repeat that until the number of hot dogs you’re making are full. You can at this point set them on the pan with foil and begin assembling the rest of the Pizza Dogs! 

You’re going to then spoon some pizza sauce over the top of the hot dog. I wouldn’t put a ton on there as it will start to make the bun soggy, and no one likes soggy buns. 

11121894_10152885038502807_1386612184_n

Now the fun part- add your pizza toppings. I simply added 3 slices of turkey pepperoni to the top and sprinkled on some shredded Mozzarella cheese! I then put then into the oven to bake for about 10 minutes or until I was done making my dinner. (I didn’t actually eat these as I am currently doing the 21 Day Fix Meal Plan) My son however ate them and was more than willing to give me the full run down on them! 

11158031_10152885038532807_487660558_n

I forgot to take a picture of them baked but they looked the same except a little brown and the cheese was melted. I’m still new to the reviewing recipes thing so bare with me please lol. 

Here’s the review from a mom’s stand point. It’s super easy to make, it doesn’t require a lot of ingredients, or a lot of prep work. It also doesn’t take a long time to cook as everything is already cooked you’re just melting everything together. The kids are going to be super happy with it because I don’t know too many children who don’t like pizza, or hot dogs. It’s not the most healthy of dinner options, but if you are careful about what you’re putting together you can always make this healthy. You could for instance use wheat hot dog rolls, turkey pepperoni (like I did), low fat mozzarella, and use turkey hot dogs.

Ben’s Review: It was really good- but the sauce makes it slippery to eat. In other words don’t add a lot of sauce like I previously mentioned. He and I both also noticed that with it being in the oven only 10 minutes it doesn’t really have a chance to melt the string cheese inside the hot dog. So the next time I think I’ll just use shredded mozzarella cheese for the middle as well. He said that something was spicy, but I don’t think there was anything spicy, I think he was just trying to more in depth with his review… too funny! He requested them again, and I was happy to hear that!

Leave a Reply

