The Sweetest Come Back Since… Ever! ♥ Hostess Cakes ♥

1005859_473121609436025_1249846224_n There isn’t much introduction needed for this review! It’s the well known, and even more well loved Hostess Cakes Company!! This is actually part of my Valentine’s Day Gift Guide series. I contacted them because I knew they had to have something that they put out for the Valentine holiday. As a mother of a newly school aged child, there are so many rules about what things can be brought in to eat. They can’t bring in anything that is home made! WHAT!? I know, when I was in school my mother jumped at the opportunity to bake something for us kids to take to school. Well maybe she didn’t jump in excitement, that was perhaps my brother and I but you get my point. It’s crazy to think that everything has to be store bought. I understand the safety measures that the school has to take, and I am grateful for that. However it’s a little disheartening that things have gotten so bad that it’s come down to this. ANYWAYS, now that I am completely off topic lets get back into these cakes!

My suspicions were right in thinking that Hostess has something they offer us kind customers for the Valentine’s Day holiday! Kaitlin over at Hostess sent me a box of Red Velvet Cupcakes, Strawberry Cupcakes and Chocodile’s. Chocodile’s are basically their zingers with cherry filling inside!

10947658_10152693960657807_902696155_n 10947701_10152693960642807_749955450_n 10934424_10152693960677807_994416321_n

My 17 mos old went nuts as soon as she saw the boxes. Which is odd because we don’t buy this stuff often and she’s never had anything Hostess related. (I know, probably bad parenting lol). It mus have been the really appealing pictures on the front of the box that did her in. I let her pick which one she wanted to try, and she went straight for the Red Velvet Cupcakes! They are as you would expect, DELICIOUS! The cake wasn’t overly moist, or dry so it’d didn’t fall apart when you ate it. Which is good because this is something I’d consider sending in with my son to school for Valentine’s Day. I wouldn’t want my child coming home messing, nor would I want to send another mothers child home a mess. The frosting was more of a hardened icing, but if you’ve eaten a Hostess Cupcake you’d know this is normal for them.

10934468_10152693960702807_297379146_n

My husband’s personal favorite was the Strawberry Cupcakes, but those were actually my least favorite. I can’t pin point what it is that I am not a fan of, but regardless my husband and children will polish them off I am sure. My personal favorite was the Chocodile’s. I’ve always been a huge fan of the chocolate and cherry combination, and this just really hits the spot for me. There was enough filling in the cake to be had with each bite, that’s important. Perfect cake to creme ratio, at least for us it is. Hehe!

My husband’s first comment was “Whoa, did these things get smaller”? Now to be honest, I have no idea, like I said I don’t buy these often and to me they were a perfect size. To all you Hostess lovers, you’ll have to let me know if they’ve made their cakes smaller. The cupcakes come in 8 individual wraps, and the Chocodile’s come with 9. These can be picked up at any of your local retail stores. The Strawberry Cupcakes aren’t available to the market until March/April. I think I will  pick up a few more boxes of the Red Velvet to send with with Benjamin for Valentine’s Day.

Twitter

Facebook

Be sure to check out my Facebook Page for more reviews! If you like what you’re seeing be sure to “Like” my page, and Follow Me.

**Disclaimer** I was provided these products for free for review. There was no compensation to me other then the products provided to me by the company. All of these thoughts, comments, and opinions are 100% my own, and completely honest. These opinions are not a reflection of the companies.

One thought on “The Sweetest Come Back Since… Ever! ♥ Hostess Cakes ♥

Leave a Reply

