MANITOBA- HEMP HEARTS ♥

logoI know most of you are thinking HEMP? Isn’t that stuff used to make food, clothing, rope, paper, building materials, animal bedding/herd, plastic, paint, fuel – the list of hemp applications goes go on and on. The answer is simple, YES it is the same stuff. However hemp is a super food, and all parts of the plant can be used, even to consume it. At the top part of the hemp plant you will find the hard hemp seed. This small seed is nutritiously delicious and that how products like Hemp Hearts, hemp protein powder, and hemp oil are produced.

header_20131125195528

I generally use things like flax seed, or chia seeds in things like smoothies, and my oatmeal in the morning. They help keep me full, and have an added nutritional value to my meal. The same holds true about hemp hearts! I contacted the Manitoba Harvest company to try out and review their hemp hearts. I didn’t know what to expect from them as I had never heard of them, but after finding them I figured they maybe another nutritional alternative to my meals.

10941259_10152690408762807_1968486909_n 10934717_10152690408802807_1046659623_n

I made up my mornings oatmeal and sprinkled them into it and mixed it up. It didn’t really alter the taste too much, or the texture. I did happen to try them as is, and I found that the texture and taste was that of a nut. More specifically a sunflower seed, but not as crunchy. It had more of a soft squishy texture to it, so if you’re a person really sensitive to textures, this is the way to go. You wouldn’t even notice they were in something solely by the texture.

004_aboutHemp_HempNutrition_Image_HempfortheWholeFamily_2014-09-08

You can do so many things with these Hemp Hearts! Add them to smoothies, yogurt or even to your salad. I am sure you can figure out a lots of ways to add Hemp Hearts into your diet. Hemp Hearts have per 30 gram serving, Hemp Hearts contain 10 grams of plant-based protein and 10 grams of Omegas. This also means Hemp Hearts have more protein and omegas and less carbs than the same serving of chia or flax.

You can click here to find a location that sells Hemp Hearts and the other Hemp products Manitoba produces. If you’re like me, you’ll have to order your stuff offline here at their website. You can also fill out a request for them to try and distribute to a local store around your area. I filled one out, because I think they’d be a great fit for our Wegmans grocer here in WNY.

Be sure to follow show them some love and support at the following links:

Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

and Instagram!

Be sure to check out my Facebook Page for more reviews! If you like what you’re seeing be sure to “Like” my page, and Follow Me.

**Disclaimer** I was provided these products for free for review. There was no compensation to me other then the products provided to me by the company. All of these thoughts, comments, and opinions are 100% my own, and completely honest. These opinions are not a reflection of the companies.

Leave a Reply

