Taco Pizza Rolls- *Tonights Dinner*

I am trying something new with this review post- I will be reviewing a new recipe I found on Facebook on another Blog. So with that being said, some of these photos are NOT mine and are from The Girl Who Ate Everything’s Blog. Check her out, she’s got a lot of great recipe ideas what I will be trying too. So lets get into the Recipe I tried.We usually have tacos of some sort at least once a week, that’s a given. Sometimes it’s the famous “Taco Tuesday’s” or mix it up by having nacho’s or the occasional taco salad. Well today was Friday and we like to keep things simple on Friday’s because over the weekend my husband’s home and I tend to make bigger fancier meals when he’s home to enjoy them. While on Facebook earlier this week the Taco Pizza Rolls recipe showed up on my news feed and I thought that would be perfect for tonight’s dinner. So while out shopping yesterday I picked up the ingredients that were called for with some substitutions. Here is the recipe, and I will then tell you my variations.

TheGirlWhoAteEverything_TacoPizzaRolls_Vertical_Step82

Taco Pizza Rolls

Yield: 18 taco rolls

Ingredients

  • 1/2 lb ground beef
  • 1 can Pillsbury refrigerated classic pizza crust
  • 2 tablespoons Old El Paso™ taco seasoning mix (from 1-oz package)
  • 3 tablespoons water
  • 1 cup shredded Mexican blend cheese
  • Optional toppings: lettuce, tomato, sour cream, onion, and guacamole

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 ° and lightly spray a baking sheet with cooking spray.
  2. In a medium skillet, cook and brown beef until no longer pink. Drain. Add taco seasoning and water and cook for 2-3 minutes. Set aside.
  3. Take pizza dough out of its package and unroll it onto a flat surface. Slightly roll or press the pizza dough out into a rectangle.
  4. Add the taco meat evenly on top of the pizza dough. Sprinkle the cheese evenly on top.
  5. Starting with the long edge of the pizza dough, roll dough tightly up into a roll. Using a serrated knife, make about 1-inch slices along the roll, making about 18 rolls.
  6. Place rolls on prepared baking sheet. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until tops are golden brown.
  7. Serve immediately and top with desired toppings.

Instead of  ground beef, I used ground turkey. It’s more lean, and we prefer the taste of it over beef since switching to ground turkey about 4 years ago. I also didn’t use or buy name brand taco seasoning. I bought mine at our local Aldi’s grocery store, the same goes for the shredded cheese. I also used an entire lb of ground turkey and used the entire package of taco seasoning and only used about 3/4 of a lb and will use the rest later on this week for perhaps taco salad :).

A few things that I ran into while assembling that made things a little frustrating was the lack of a good serrated knife. You want to also make sure that the pizza dough isn’t overly soft (from sitting out at room temperature too long, and the meat has had enough time to cool before putting it onto the tough.) If you don’t allow for the meat to cool, it could cause issues when it came time to roll it up.  This is how mine turned out before cooked, and after.

10866642_10152599983522807_673240516_n 10881299_10152599983572807_1066900726_n

Okay maybe not the best looking things, but seriously some of the yummiest tasting things. I heated refried beans and spread the tops of each of them with it, and then put salsa or lite sour cream on top with chopped tomatoes

10859880_10152599983592807_391930743_n 10846956_10152599983662807_283739954_n

Both the boys in my life were really happy! They couldn’t shovel them in fast enough, and it’s been asked to have these in rotation of our taco creations. This recipe was relatively cheap, and easy to prepare. Clean up was also a breeze, just use aluminum on your baking sheets. I can’t wait to have them again tomorrow for lunch as there were plenty leftover.

If you like this recipe review please let me know in the comments and I can review some more. I really enjoy trying new recipes so please, if you have any you’re on the fence about trying let me know I’d love to be the to test it out.

Check me out on Facebook as well.

2 thoughts on “Taco Pizza Rolls- *Tonights Dinner*

    • Jamie– the instruction/recipe is in the middle of the review. You cook at 400* and place them on a lightly greased cookie sheet. They make on average 15-18 taco rolls, and yes i used just one Pillsbury Pizza Crust roll 🙂 Enjoy them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

