Chopstick Art

Logo&Name.72dpiBasketEver wonder how many chopsticks are thrown away each year after just one use? A shocking 25 million bamboo plants are used each year to make the chopsticks used in this next product for review. While looking new and unique products to review I came upon a company called Chopstick Art. Now I am sure like you, I didn’t know what to expect when I clicked onto their website. I was thinking pieces of art for the wall that was designed out of chopsticks. I was somewhere in the ball park when I said it was made out of chopsticks. However it’s not wall art, but more of a home décor product.

The Chopstick Art company has been around since 2004 and have been featured in the Smithsonian and other museum stores. The chopsticks are all recycled and collected from restaurants, sanitized through a boiling method and then assembled into the baskets and various other products.  It takes approx. 1 hour to assemble each basket, and they take the time to hand craft each one. Like the one sent to me the chopsticks are naturally dyed using tea leaves.

20141208_115903images1KSQ72VP

What I love about this product it that is ships to you flat, it’s not overly bulky or heavy so it doesn’t weight a ton. It’s easy to take anywhere with you. The most common uses for the Chopstick art is said to be for fruit baskets, a cooking try for cookies, or even a pasta strainer, but really the possibilities are endless. You can even set it upright on its end (so it looks like a fan) and put photos in the ends for display, hang earrings off the end, or display ornaments and Christmas cards. Here is what I chose to do with mine.

20141208_121400

Its one of those pieces in your home that catches everyone’s eyes. My 6 year old son got off the bus yesterday and went into the kitchen to get himself a snack and this is what I hear. “Whoa Mom, where did you get this basket, it is super cool. Neat-o” I agree with him, its a brilliant idea to help cut down on waste, but also to spice up your home décor.

Chopstick Art is not limited to just baskets they make a few other items as well. To check out the other items visit their Website, or Facebook. Also the best way to purchase their items is directly through their website.Thank You Chopstick Art for the wonderful home décor and conversation starter.

Logo&Name.72dpi

Be sure to check out my Facebook Page for more reviews! If you like what you’re seeing be sure to “Like” my page, and Follow Me.

**Disclaimer** I was provided these products for free for review. There was no compensation to me other then the products provided to me by the company. All of these thoughts, comments, and opinions are 100% my own, and completely honest. These opinions are not a reflection of the companies.

Leave a Reply

